Why do dogs eyes get red?

The most common causes of red eyes in dogs: * Environmental irritants and allergens: Like people, elements in the environment such as dirt, dust, and cigarette smoke can irritate your dog's eyes. Your dog may also develop environmental allergies to trees, grasses, flowers, insects, etc