How many tiles do you pick in scrabble?

Seven tiles. Scrabble uses a board with squares on it, and a large number of letters on small tiles. Each player, when it is his or her turn, has to put a word on the board, using any of the seven letters that they have in front of them. Their word must join on to what is already on the board.