Who is beatrice in a series of unfortunate events?

Mostly, Beatrice is a character named Beatrice Baudelaire who is the deceased mother of the three Baudelaire orphans. In the books she is never “seen” and in the TV series, she appears — for the first time — in a series of flashbacks played by actress Morena Baccarin.