What's an antonym?

Antonyms are words that have contrasting, or opposite, meanings. Like so much of the English language, “antonym” is rooted in the Greek language. The Greek word anti means opposite, while onym means name. An example of a word opposite in meaning to another word is good and bad, or fast and slow.