How long does it take to boil a half a pound of chicken?

Bring it to a boil. Depending on the size of your chicken breasts, they should simmer for about 10 minutes. After 10 minutes remove one piece from the pot and check. The internal temperature should be 165°. If they need more time check every 5 minutes.