What is a santa hat called?

Santa has changed his style of hat over the years. Currently he wears a style called a stocking cap. Stocking caps are typically knitted into a cone shape. The pointed end that hangs down has a tassel. Mrs Claus knits all of Santa's stocking caps with red yarn and sews on the white trim and tassel.