How do you get bananas to turn yellow?

Bananas will turn yellow naturally, and there isn't anything you can do to hurry the process along. Bananas turn from green to yellow because of a hormone called ethylene that makes bananas change color, the peel breaks down, and the starch within the fruit is converted into simple sugars.