Where was the first j. c. penney store?

James Cash Penney opened a Golden Rule general store in Kemmerer, WY in 1904. It was the third Golden Rule store, but is considered the "original" JCPenney store, since Penney eventually bought out the others. It's still in operation today.

---

The first J.C. Penney store was located in Kemmerer, Wyoming.