What country is on the other side of the great wall of china?

The Great Wall was built roughly East- West through the historic China border to bar other warring Chinese states. After the first emperor united China it was expanded the prevent invasion from Mongolia, then later enlarged to protect the silk road. It runs from the Gobi desert to North Korea.