What is a whiskey rebellion?

The Whiskey Rebellion was a violent insurrection against the federal government from 1791 to 1794. In western Pennsylvania, farmers targeted officials collecting a tax on distilled liquor. President George Washington ultimately led a militia army to end the revolt and solidify federal authority.