How loud is a helicopter?

According to the Helicopter Association International (HAI), the sound level of a helicopter flying at 500 feet is approximately 87dB. At 1,000 feet, the sound level drops to 79dB. Long-term exposure to 80-85 decibels or over can cause hearing loss so helicopters are really loud.