What's the difference between boil and simmer?

Boiling liquids at high temperatures yields large bubbles at the bottom of the pot, which quickly rise to break the surface of the liquid. Simmering—ranging from a low simmer to a gentle boil—is characterized by a subtler movement of small bubbles from the bottom to the surface of the water.