Do coffee beans get old?

Yes, the oils will eventually dry up and go stale. Store coffee in an airtight container somewhere cool, dry, and dark. Stored this way, ground coffee can be used for a few months past its expiration date, whole bean for up to nine months, and instant coffee for up to twenty years.