What does yellow leaves on a plant mean?

Yellowing of plant leaves can indicate a nutrient deficiency, lack of sufficient sunlight, or temperatures have gone above or below the range tolerated by the plant. Often plants will shed leaves naturally as they grow, and yellowing may not be indicative of a problem.