Why is australia known as the land down under?

Australia is known as “the land down under” because it’s located in the Southern Hemisphere. European explorers discovered Australia when they were looking for a land under the continent of Asia.

---

Australia is known as 'the land Down Under' for its position in the southern hemisphere. The discovery of Australia began when European explorers searched for a land under the continent of Asia.