What does red lining mean?

"Redlining" was a real estate sales practice of drawing red lines on maps around white neighborhoods inside of which minority buyers would not be shown any listing. Redlining was used to perpetuate racial segregation but is now illegal in the US.

---

Driving a motor vehicle up to the maximum RPMs, this maximum is called the red line