What's the difference between a manhattan and an old-fashioned?

A Manhattan is a cocktail made from whisky, sweet vermouth and bitters, garnished with a cherry. An old fashioned is made from whisky, a sugar cube, bitters, and water. It's also usually garnished with a cherry.