Why do dogs eat flies?

Also called fly-biting or fly-snapping, this strange behavior may be caused by several different things. Some dogs, particularly hunting or sporting breeds, may be more inclined to chase and pursue bugs that annoy them. Chasing flies can also become an obsession or compulsion.