What happens during sleep paralysis?

During REM sleep our muscles are are paralyzed, probably to prevent us from acting-out our dreams. Sleep paralysis is when you wake from REM sleep but are still unable to move your muscles for a time. Usually a sensation of pressure on the chest accompanies this disturbing experience