What documents do you need to get a real i. d.?

At a minimum, you must provide documentation showing: Full Legal Name; Date of Birth; Social Security Number; Two Proofs of Address of Principal Residence; and lastly, Lawful Status. States may impose additional requirements, so check with your State's DMV before visiting in person.