What is california's prop forty seven?

Proposition 47 was a referendum passed by voters in the state of California on November 4, 2014. The measure was referred to by its supporters as the Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Act. It recategorized some nonviolent offenses as misdemeanors, rather than felonies.