What does a word mean?

A word is a verbal symbol that we assign an object or a concept. Gradually, as more and more people agree on connecting the verbal symbol with the object or the concept, the word comes into use. So words come out of our previous language experience, our culture, and the new situation we face.

---

A word is a series of letters preceded and followed by a space, that which when multiple words are ordered properly can be used to relay information.