Is van a word?

Yes, van is a word. The most common usage of the word is a 9-foot long, rectangular, enclosed vehicle, with a driver seat, a front passenger seat, and a variety of configurations inside. Some can be empty for hauling cargo, while others can seat up to 9 additional passengers.