How do you know when a dragon fruit is ready?

A dragon fruit is ripe when the outer skin is a bright even colour. Depending on the type it will be either a bright yellow or red. If the fruit has a number of dark blotches on the skin, similar to bruises on apples then it is overripe. A few blotches is ok.