What is lime made of?

Lime is produced through the calcination of limestone in a lime kiln at temperatures at or above 2000 degrees . The product of calcination of high calcium limestone is "quicklime" or calcium oxide. Quicklime in turn can be reacted with water to produce hydrated lime (calcium hydroxide).