Who is woods rogers?

Woodes Rogers was an English Sea Captain, privateer. In 1718 he was the first governor of the Bahamas. He is known as the captain of the vessel that rescued Alexander Selrik, whose plight is generally believed to have inspired Daniel Defoe's Robinson Crusoe