What's the definition of trumpet?

A trumpet is a brass musical instrument known for its bright penetrating tone. Trumpets have a flared bell, tubing bent into a straight-sided coil, and three valves. Trumpet as a verb means to play a trumpet, or to proclaim something widely or loudly.