Who was the first hispanic cabinet member?

Lauro Cavazos, a sixth generation Mexican American, became the first Hispanic to hold a cabinet position in the United States when Ronald Reagan appointed him Secretary of Education in 1988. George H. W. Bush retained Cavazos in that same role until Cavazos's resignation from the post in 1990.