What kind of pepper is a hatch green chili?

The unique taste of Hatch chiles is something of a legend. Compared to other chile peppers, Hatch chiles are earthier, perhaps from the rich soil in the area they're from. They can be eaten raw, but the skin is pretty thick, so they're often roasted, which brings out unrivaled smoky, buttery notes.