Why do boats sink?

First, boats float by displacing the weight of water greater than the weight of the boat. Boats can sink for many reasons, including tipping over, having a hole knocked in the hull below the waterline causing flooding or having waves overtop the deck and fill cargo holds mistakenly left open.