Why do boats sink?

First, boats float by displacing the weight of water greater than the weight of the boat. Boats can sink for many reasons, including tipping over, having a hole knocked in the hull below the waterline causing flooding or having waves overtop the deck and fill cargo holds mistakenly left open.

---

Many boats sink because of leaks at thru-hulls, outdrive boots, or the raw water cooling system, all of which are routinely implicated when boats sink at the dock. Many boats sink after coming down hard off of waves and splitting open.