What is an electric fan?

electric fan - a fan run by an electric motor that uses blades to expel air, heat or exhaust or to cool the air. Fans can be hung from the ceiling, mounted to a wall or sit on the floor. Fans range in size from one on your desk to a huge warehouse fan.