How much of the world have we discovered?

As of the year 2000, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) estimated that as much as 95 percent of the world's oceans and 99 percent of the ocean floor are unexplored. Exploring these regions deep below the ocean's surface is difficult, time-consuming and expensive.