What is rickets?

Rickets is the softening and weakening of bones in children, usually because of an extreme and prolonged vitamin D deficiency. Rare inherited problems also can cause rickets.

---

Rickets is a children's disease characterized by soft bones leading to deformations such as bowed legs. It is usually caused by a vitamin d deficiency.