Who wrote this little light of mine?

This Little Light of Mine is reported to be written for children in the 1920s by Harry Dixon Loes, but he never claimed credit for the original version of the song.

---

This Little Light of Mine, was often reported to be written for children in the 1920s by Harry Dixon Loes, but he never claimed credit for the original song, and researchers at the Moody Bible Institute, where Loes worked, said they have found no evidence that he wrote it. No one really knows.