How do you tell a male goldfish from a female goldfish?

To identify a female goldfish, look for a rounder, thicker body shape. Females may also have a bulge on one side as breeding season approaches. Male goldfish often have a thinner, more streamlined body shape than females, with a concave vent and a midline ridge.