What are intermediate clouds?

Intermediate clouds include altocumulus, flattened globular masses arranged in groups, lines, or waves, clouds sometimes so close together their edges join; & altostratus, thick cirrostratus w-out halo phenomena, like a gray veil, through which the sun shows vaguely or sometimes completely hidden.