Is it bad to put warm food in the refrigerator?

Hot food should be brought down to room temperature because if placed in the fridge the salmonella bacteria can spoil the food very easily. Also, by placing hot food in the fridge you are risking other perishable foods.

---

Sometimes it is. It is best to put only small containers of hot food in right away. Large containers should be left to cool a bit. They can lower the inside temperature of your fridge. Be careful not to leave the food out too long, otherwise bacteria will ruin the food after a couple of hours.