How did the mayans farm?

Maya farmers used a method called slash and burn before they began planting crops. ... After this, the farmers planted seeds in the soil and waited for their crops to grow. The crops they grew included maize (corn), squash, beans, chili peppers, and cacao (cocoa), which is used to make chocolate.