What is a wine cork made out of?

Cork is a material that is harvested for commercial use primarily from the bark of the Cork Oak tree. Cork's elasticity together with its near-impermeability makes it suitable as a material for bottle stoppers, especially for wine bottles.

---

A natural wine cork is made of the bark from a cork tree. However, plastic based corks have become popular in recent years.