How do you unlock copper in minecraft?

Raw copper, or copper ore mined with the Silk Touch Minecraft enchantment, can be mined underground from ore veins and work similarly to other metal ores when dropped and broken. Mining copper requires at least a stone pickaxe or harder to harvest the ore.