When was artificial intelligence invented?

While many pondered on the idea, the proof of concept for Artificial Intelligence was initialized through Allen Newell, Cliff Shaw, and Herbert Simon’s, program called Logic Theorist in 1956. The program was designed to mimic the problem solving skills of a human.