Who invented the radio?

German physicist Heinrich Hertz discovered electromagnetic waves in 1888 but saw no practical use for his findings. Italian inventor Guglielmo Marconi realized that the waves could be used for long-distance communication. He built wireless stations and launched the era of radio around the world.