How long can you keep cooked chicken out?

When you leave cooked food at room temperature, it immediately enters the Danger Zone. Coined by the USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service, the Danger Zone is a temperature range (40 to 140°F or 4.4 to 60°C) where bacteria quickly spreads out in the food, making it unsafe to eat after a few hours.