Where was the first fossil found?

The first known fossil, megalosaurus (great lizard), was found in 1676, but not given a scientific name until 1824 by William Buckland.

---

it is hard to say because fossils have been found and used since before recorded history, whether the discoverer knew what they were or not. Currently the oldest fossils are found on the coast line of Australia.