When was y. m. c. a. written?

The song YMCA was released by the Village People in 1978.

---

The song, Y M C A, was release October 17th, 1978. In a 2008 SPIN interview, band member Randy Jones said the idea for the song came from his and producer Jacques Morali's 1977 visits to a New York location.