Can bears climb?

Many bears can climb. Grizzly bears can easily climb trees when they are smaller and young. As the bear grows in size, it becomes more difficult for them to climb trees. Despite being somewhat timid on the ground, black bears are extremely good in climbing and often gain courage when in trees.