How old are cowboy?

In 1519, shortly after the Spanish arrived in the Americas, they began to build ranches to raise cattle and other livestock. Horses were imported from Spain and put to work on the ranches. Mexico's native cowboys were called vaqueros, which comes from the Spanish word vaca (cow).