How do you get pine cones and animal crossing?

It can be obtained by shaking fully grown cedar trees at this time. They have a low drop-rate but keep shaking cedar trees and you will get plenty. You can get unlimited pine cones from the same cedar tree, although it does take a while due to the low drop-rate.