What's the difference between brandy and scotch?

Brandy, short for brandywine is a sprit that is distilled from wine, grapes and other fruit juices. Scotch or scotch whiskey is actually a type of whiskey that is processed in Scotland.

---

Brandy and Rum use fermented fruit juice, while Whiskey (Bourbon, and Scotch) use fermented grain mash. Most brandies are grape brandy which is mainly because their base ingredients are grapes. On the other hand, Whiskey uses cereal grains from barley, malted barley, malted rye, wheat, and corn.