What is the doolittle raid?

The Doolittle raid was an world war 2 raid conducted early in 1942 by General James Doolittle. It involved carrying American B-24 light bombers on the aircraft carrier Hornet to Japanese waters and launching them from the carrier to strike cities. It was mainly morale boost as it did little damage.